Sneak Peek into Theo Pauline Nestor’s Upcoming Memoir, The High Dive

Hi Readers,

I’ve been enjoying reading the works-in-progress from our teachers over the last week and was inspired to share a chapter from my upcoming memoir, The High Dive: A Writer’s Story of Finding Her Voice and a Guide to Finding Your Own (Simon & Schuster, 2013).

I don’t have a pub date yet, but I’m guessing it’s sometime in 2013. In the meantime, here’s a sneak peek.

The High Dive is my sophomore book, and like many writers I floundered around like mad after my first book came out.  My plans for churning another book out right away quickly turned to dust.  I couldn’t get a foothold on a workable idea.  I wrote 70 pages or so of two different books, both of which I deserted either because of my own disinterest or my publisher’s. In what appeared to be a completely fallow period, I started a blog called Writing Is My Drink, on which I shared writing advice (because if it’s not going well for me, I’m in a PERFECT position to give advice, right?), interviewed writers, and shared stories about “coming into my own voice.”

I’d been sharing these same stories of my long coming of age as a writer for years in my memoir class through the University of Washington’s continuing education program, and I have to credit my students for helping me to see their value. One desperate day in October, 2010 (right after a proposal for another memoir had been shot down), I  realized that these “little” stories were the IT I’d be looking for.  They’d been there, just like Dorothy’s power to go home, all along.

Looking forward to meeting you at Wild Mountain!

Theo

Follow me on Twitter: @theopnestor

Follow me on Facebook.

 

One response to “Sneak Peek into Theo Pauline Nestor’s Upcoming Memoir, The High Dive

Leave a Reply

